Could You Have Prediabetes?

Take the test – know your score

Are you a woman who has had a baby weighing more than 9 pounds at birth?

Do you have a sister or brother with diabetes?

Do you have a parent with diabetes?

Find your height on the chart. Do you weigh as much as or more than the weight listed for your height?

Are you younger than 65 years of age and get little or no exercise in a typical day?

Are you between 45 and 64 years of age?

Are you 65 years of age or older?

results


Diabetes Prevention

Prediabetes means your blood glucose (sugar) is higher than normal, but not yet diabetes. Diabetes is a serious disease that can cause heart attack, stroke, blindness, kidney failure, or loss of feet or legs. Type 2 diabetes can be delayed or prevented in people with prediabetes through effective lifestyle programs. Take the first step. Find out your risk for prediabetes.

If Your Score Is...

If Your Score is 3 to 8 Points

This means your risk is probably low for having prediabetes now. Keep your risk low. If you’re overweight, lose weight. Be active most days, and don’t use tobacco. Eat low-fat meals with fruits, vegetables, and whole-grain foods. If you have high cholesterol or high blood pressure, talk to your health care provider about your risk for type 2 diabetes.

If Your Score is 9 or More Points

This means your risk is high for having prediabetes now. Please make an appointment with your health care provider soon.

Diabetes Prevention Program

The Diabetes Prevention Program is a CDC-recognized lifestyle change program proven to prevent or delay type 2 diabetes. By the end of the program participants will know how to:

  • Maintain a healthy weight
  • Prepare simple, healthy meals
  • Find time to be physically active

Franklin County

Franklin County Public Health Department

107 Industrial Dr
Louisburg, NC 27549
Contact Shanta’ Garner
Email: sgarner@franklincountync.us
Phone: (919) 496-2533

North Carolina Cooperative Extension

Franklin County Center
103 South Bickett Blvd.
Louisburg, NC 27549
Contact Dominque Simon
Email: dominque_simon@ncsu.edu
Phone: (919) 496-3344

Granville County

Creedmoor Drug Company

108 S Main St
Creedmoor, NC 27522
Contact Ryan Wheeler
Email: rwheeler@creedmoordrug.com
Phone: (919) 528-0041

Granville-Vance Public Health Department

101 Hunt Dr
Oxford, NC 27565
Contact Tyisha Terry
Email: tterry@gvdhd.org
Phone: (919) 693-2141

Halifax County

Halifax Public Health Department

19 Dobbs St
Halifax, NC 27839
Contact Abi Hicks
Email: hicksa@halifaxnc.com
Phone: (252) 583-5021

Johnston County

Benson Area Medical Center

3333 NC-242
Benson, NC 27504
Contact Beth Mills
Email: bmills@bensonmedical.org
Phone: (919) 894-2011

Community Care of Wake and Johnston County

4207 Lake Boone Trail, Suite 100
Raleigh, NC 27607
Contact Gwen Vinson
Email: gvinson@wakedocs.org
Phone: (919) 783-0404

Johnston County Public Health Department

517 North Brightleaf Blvd.
Smithfield, NC 27577
Contact Jaime Pearce
Email: jaime.pearce@johnstonnc.com
or Contact Melissa Rockett
Email: melissa.rockett@johnstonnc.com
Phone: (919) 989-5200

REALO Discount Drugs, Four Oaks, NC

6030 U.S. Hwy 301 S
Four Oaks, NC 27524
Contact Heather McLamb
Phone: (919) 980-4031

Nash County

Nash County Public Health Department

214 S Barnes St
Nashville, NC 27856
Contact Jerome Garner
Email: jerome.garner@nashcountync.gov
Phone: (252) 459-9819

Vance County

Granville-Vance Public Health Department

115 Charles Rollins Rd
Henderson, NC 27536
Contact Tyisha Terry
Email: tterry@gvdhd.org
Phone: (919) 693-2141

Wake County

Betr Health

555 Fayetteville Street, 3rd Floor
Raleigh, NC 27601
Contact Dr. William Ferro
Email: zoe@betrhealth.com
Phone: (919) 324-0887
Website: https://betrhealth.com/

Community Care of Wake and Johnston County

4207 Lake Boone Trail, Suite 100
Raleigh, NC 27607
Contact Gwen Vinson
Email: gvinson@wakedocs.org
Phone: (919) 783-0404

YMCA of the Triangle

801 Corporate Center Dr #200
Raleigh, NC 27607
Contact Amy Ward
Email: amy.ward@ymcatriangle.org
Phone: (919) 582-9396

Wake County Human Services

10 Sunnybrook Road
Raleigh, NC 27610
Contact Shaneka Grimes
Email: shaneka.grimes@wakegov.com
Phone: (919) 250-4598

Warren County

Warren County Public Health Department

544 W Ridgeway St # A
Warrenton, NC 27589
Contact Hilda Baskerville
Email: hildabaskerville@warrencountync.gov
Phone: (252) 257-1185